Bad Hair & Adult Friendships

17 May

Last week my gorgeous cousin, Caroline, graduated from the University of Georgia and her recent accomplishment got me thinking about my own post-college experiences.

I graduated from the University of South Carolina in 2008 with a Bachelor of the Arts in Journalism and Mass Communications and unlike my brilliant cousin Caroline – jobless. Finding a job had proved to be more difficult than I had hoped  (as I am sure most people who graduated in 2008 would agree)  because that is when the economy tanked. So I did what many 08′ grads did and moved back in with the parents. 

Finding a job was hard but finding friends as an adult was a different animal all together. Making new friends as an adult is hard work.

In college you make new friends everyday. You meet them in your classes, dorm, or extra curricular activities.. you are always experiencing new things so you are always meeting new people. After college you settle down in a sense. Get a job, go to the same places, get stuck in a routine, and you really have to make an effort to meet people.

My first “adult” friend was Natalie. She was also my first “boss” after college. We had a short run together (career wise) but I am certain we will always be friends. I still remember the day we solidified our friendship like it was yesterday…

I think what sealed the deal was when I showed her my driver’s license. My driver’s license in college had an unfortunate picture mostly because I had an unfortunate haircut. She laughed so hard she almost peed herself.

Unfortunately for you I am not in possession of this license because when I became a Georgia resident they took it away from me. However I do have some similar photos.

Exhibit A. -What I looked like when Natalie met me.. looking normal… Cute…and very professional at the Carolina Cup. 

Normal Me, Senior Year

Exhibit B- College Picture. Looking rough…Unsexy… And quite hilarious. Sidenote: I did this to myself so do not pity me. All I can say is people do crazy things when they get broken up with.  Also note the camo, if I  was capable of feeling shame, I would feel it now. 

bad haircut

In July, I will be packing my bags to join my hubby in Greensboro, NC and I will again be looking for adult friends. Unfortunately for me I don’t have a stunning driver’s license picture to do all the work for me… but I think I can handle the challenge.

Confessions of a Gemini

2 Responses to “Bad Hair & Adult Friendships”

  1. beauthi May 18, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    very nice! your blog is very lovely and interesting. im glad if you visit my blog, too ❤

    xx
    beauthi.blogspot.com

  2. Caroline May 21, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    Grace You go girl! I’m excited to keep up with your Blog! This is my first night reading it, Kevin and I once had a blog but it didn’t last long. I hope your blog has a full life long existence full of funny stories, important life lessons, and witty adventurous tales of your past present and future 🙂 LOVE YOU CUZ
    – CB

Leave a Reply

