Silver Lining

9 Apr

Silver-Lining

My experiences in Florida taught me a lot about myself and the person I am. I was afraid that my confidence might have been permanently marred after my two job experiences in FLA. But really all I needed was a few weeks away and some love from my husband, family, and friends to realize it really wasn’t me …it was them.

I learned so much in Florida from my work experiences that I have created an incredible list of the top 5 ways you can be an awesome boss:

1.    Don’t talk down to the people that work for you. First and foremost you hired them, so obviously they aren’t complete idiots. Secondly, if you talk to people like they are idiots they will start to resent you, then they will stop caring about their work (it will never be good enough for you anyway)and if you treat most of your employees this way eventually you will have full on mutiny in the workplace. Bitches will go crazy and start sabotaging you and your office. Women are sneaky. You might not even know what is going on, but it is happening, and one day you will be at a dog park and you will see a sign with your number on it that says: Having a bad day? Call me because I am an asshole and I deserve it! And by that time it is too late. Everyone in your city knows you are an asshole. AND who knows what else they have done that you don’t know about! (All of this is hypothetical by the way, if you know me I have a HUGE imagination) BUT THIS COULD HAPPEN SO TAKE IT SERIOUSLY Y’ALL!

2.    Don’t micromanage. As mentioned above you hired these people. They obviously were qualified for the job or else you wouldn’t have hired them. Now I totally get that some form of training has to occur, but after the guidelines have been set forth LET IT GO. Eventually micromanaging will take its toll, and people will either quit or just stop giving a shit about their job.

3.    Speaking of training. My third rule of thumb is to train your new employee. Sounds like a pretty standard request right? Obviously not. If you have a particular way of wanting something done you have to TRAIN someone how to do it that way. People are not mind readers. You can’t tell someone you don’t have the time to teach them or tell them to figure it out on their own and then get mad if things aren’t done the way you would have done them. This makes you seem CRAZY. Which brings me to my next point…

4.    There are many different ways to accomplish tasks. I know that sounds weird, but let me explain. Everyone works in different ways. I for one am someone who likes to make lists. Sometimes I write things down multiple times because it helps me remember things. I prefer email to phone calls. I also do not like paper. I like having my files electronically organized. These are just a few of my quirks, but I find these things help me work more efficiently. These things help me do my job BETTER. There is nothing wrong with that. Just like there is nothing wrong with someone who prefers paper or someone who likes to use sticky notes instead of a note pad. The bottom line is, everyone works differently and a good manager knows this and respects the differences of their employees.

5.    If you have a high turn over rate in your company it is probably your own fault. What is a high turnover rate? I would say you should disclose that you have a high turnover rate if you have had more than 3 people attempt to fill a position in the past 1-2 years and you DEFINITELY have a high turn over rate if people rarely stay at your company longer than 3 months. If that many people are going through your doors you probably aren’t being very nice to your employees. You MIGHT not be a very nice person in general. And you definitely should look inward at your personality and management style. In some cases therapy might be needed. You probably don’t even realize that people don’t really like you.

I totally found the silver-lining y’all. Florida taught me how to be an awesome boss! Do you have any tips I have missed? Please DO share below in the comments 🙂

signature

2 Responses to “Silver Lining”

  1. Debbie April 10, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I can think of a few former bosses that should read this post…. Glad you found the silver lining in your experience!

    • graceinman April 10, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

      I feel like so many people can relate to a crazy boss! Thank you so much for stopping by! xo

Leave a Reply

