My Glass is Half Full

18 Jul

I have been totally slacking on my blogging and starting today I am going to make a better effort to make time to update.

I also have been struggling with how to talk about my new job. I want to be honest (this is MY blog right?) but I wouldn’t want any repercussions because I am careless with my words. Lets just say this isn’t my dream job – by any stretch of the imagination – but it does challenge me in ways I haven’t been challenged before. I am learning about finance and that is completely out of my comfort zone. Also I think this job has really tested my inner strength. I will say that my four years at the Arts Council must have toughened me up a bit, because I found myself in situations that four years ago would have reduced me to tears, and now I take it all in stride.

Earlier today while talking to a girl in my office who is getting ready for her wedding this weekend, I reflected on my own wedding weekend. I thought about the small hiccups and stresses that could have “ruined” my day, but instead I was determined not to let anything or anyone effect my mood and my ability to have the perfect wedding. I thought this is something I can apply to my everyday life. No one can make me unhappy or put me in a bad mood because I am in control of my own emotions. If I let someone “get” to me it is my own choice.

I am really trying to look at this job as a positive experience. I am becoming well rounded in my skills and I am learning to deal with different management styles. This job forces me to be hyper vigilant in my organization and attention to detail, which is a super positive attribute to have.

In addition, as I have mentioned before, I am a big believer that everything happens for a reason and that God wouldn’t put you in a situation you couldn’t handle. If this is God’s plan for me there must be a reason and I am determined to find out what it is. And so I am leaving this in his hands, putting a smile on my face, and facing each day at my new job with a positive attitude (that HOPEFULLY is contagious!)

signature

4 Responses to “My Glass is Half Full”

  1. cynthia July 18, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    love you

  2. Molly Davis July 18, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    I am going to enjoy this blog!! But you are correct God only puts on your plate what he knows that you can handle. Trust him, he knows what he is doing. Life is a challenge and how you handle each situation will have a huge impact on your life. Just remember that you are loved and thats all that matters!! Miss you tons!!

  3. Kathy Rupple Bastian July 18, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    I’m still learning the lesson you articulated in your blog… Sometimes it’s hard to catch our emotions before they do their damage. But bless God He is so faithful to me. Even when I get zapped He walks me back to wholeness… God bless you and give you favor on your new job..

  4. Jean Anne Booth July 22, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    My college roommate had been my best friend for about a decade before I realized that her good mood and positive outlook were a CHOICE that she made EVERY DAY. I had thought that she was just a lucky girl who was born with a good-mood, positive-outlook personality. It was an earth-shattering realization for me that you can choose your response to life. I think that was the best gift anyone’s ever given me!

Leave a Reply

